Tags

, , ,

The Ravenous Munchkins have always loved rice since they starting eating.   Honestly each of their very first meals was miso soup with seaweed and white rice that I would make and puree for them…THEY LOOOOVED IT!!  I mean, what else would you expect from three kids who are part Korean?!?

The past 2 years I have had them eating (and LOVING) brown rice. It’s much more healthy, full of fiber, and it’s something that you can feel good about feeding your kids.

I decided to make something that we haven’t had in a while. BiBimBop – it’s a simple Korean dish that is simply steamed rice with seasoned and sautéed vegetables and meat.  BiBimBap literally translates to “Mixed Rice”.  A fitting name as you mix up the rice after it is served to you.

I was stoked to make this meal tonight and went on a hunt for this delicioso “Veggie Ham” I had tasted at the vegan restaurant we’ve been frequenting. I went to the Korean grocery, and 2 Vietnamese groceries before I found it…

JACKPOT!!

If you have had this I highly suggest you give it a try. Don’t let the HUGE size of it intimidate you, you can use it in EVERYTHING!! I don’t think it’s meant to be eaten plain, but as an add in for flavor for a dish. I would say the taste is a little “hammy” and a little “spammy”.

Ingredients:

  • 1 package of brown rice; steamed
  • 1/4 loaf of Veggie ham; julienned
  • 1 package of  spinach
  • 3 small Korean squash; julienned (or Mexican depending where u shop)
  • 8+ shiitakes; sliced thinly
  • one package of shredded carrots
  • toasted sesame oil
  • salt
  • Sriracha and toasted sesame oil for serving

Directions:

  1. Prepare rice ahead of time.
  2. One at a time saute each different vegetable and veggie ham with a couple drops of toasted sesame oil and a pinch of salt. When each are finished place them in individual bowls.
  3. When all veggies and rice are finished cooking, put some rice into a bowl and arrange your veggies on top. It’s all about presentation!!
  4. I eat mine with a little sesame oil and Sriracha but you can also make some Cho Ganchang to serve it with.
  5. Don’t forget to mix it up before you eat, after all it IS BiBimBap!

