Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I am deeply in love with taste of sweet, salty, caramelized, roasted brussels sprouts – I oven roast them after tossing them with EVOO and toasted almonds with a touch of butter. YUM!

I decided to try to put a new spin on them and this was one of my side dishes for Christmas dinner.

Ingredients:

  •  One netted bag of brussels sprouts
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 clove garlic, chopped
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 3 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup chopped almonds, pecans, or walnuts, toasted

Directions:

  1. Cut the root end off each sprout and discard. Then slice each sprout into thin ribbons using a knife of mandolin slicer. 
  2. Heat the EVOO over medium high in a large skillet and saute the garlic until toasted.
  3. Add the sprouts to the pan and continue sauteing for another 5 minutes until desired doneness (some like them fresh and green, some like them cooked thoroughly)
  4. Add the salt and brown sugar and toss together, remove from heat and add nuts

While these were great, I still adore MY original recipe – the one that got my kids and hubby to LOVE sprouts!

