Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

There’s a local resturant here in Louisville, that serves a Sunday brunch, called Bristol. I have been twice, once for Mother’s Day and once on Easter.  While everything at the bar is well and good. Something unsual caught my eye tastebud – French Toast. Well, how is that unusual you say? Well, I really really don’t like French Toast! But this stuff was OFF THE CHAIN!! It had some sort of caramelized syrup on top, not eggy at all, and mmmmm..mmmmm…mmmmmm…GOOD!

On my second visit I sweet talked the waitress and tried to pry some ingredients out of her. She told me that it was baked. I asked her if It had caramel. She said all she knew is it had honey! I also dislike HONEY! 😛

I was determined to make this at home and demolish the entire pan in one sitting suprize the kids with it for breakfast.

  • 4 tablespoons butter
  • 4 tablespoons honey
  • 2/3 cup orange juice
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • Pinch of nutmeg
  • 6 (1/2 inch – 1 inch) thick slices of French bread ot Italian bread

Heat oven to 375.

Slice bread loaf into 1/2 – 1 inch slices.

Put butter and honey into a 9-by-13-inch nonreactive baking dish. Heat in oven until butter melts and honey is bubbling, about 8 minutes. Remove from oven and stir well.

In another baking dish, whisk together juice, eggs, spices, and salt. Dip bread in, turning it once to coat it well, let it soak about 2 minutes per side, then carefully set each piece of bread into the honey-buttered pan.

Bake for 20 to 25 minutes, or until well-browned. Before serving, flip over each piece so the honey-butter side is up.

